What is HDMI 4K 60Hz, DVI 4K 60Hz, and DVI with HDCP 2.2

What are HDMI ports (4K 60Hz)

4K is a widespread resolution these days, and you can connect the device to a TV at that resolution using the HDMI port. However, there are many different port names such as HDMI (4K @ 60Hz) DVI IN (HDCP 2.2, ARC, 10Bit, MHL) . Of course, you don’t need to understand all of them in order to use these ports, but understanding their purpose is the best way if you want to use them.

What are HDMI ports (4K 60Hz)

For example, on LG TVs HDMI is called HDMI (4K @ 60Hz) DVI IN (HDCP 2.2, ARC, 10Bit, MHL). And there are some other names for the earlier ports, which might be known as HDMI (ARC, STB, DVI, MHL) . In this article, I will try to tell you about their differences.

What are HDMI ports (4K 60Hz)

DVI 4k 60Hz

HDMI 4k @ 60Hz / DVI IN, (shown in the picture above) and means this TV supports HDMI 2.0 standard. These ports support 4k Video (3840 x 2160 pixels) and 60Hz frame rate, they also support 3D. For convenience, these ports are labeled DVI and this helps you choose what you can connect to that port. DVI indicates that a computer is connected to this port.

HDMI (HDCP 2.2) 4K 60Hz

This is the copy protection port (data version 2.2). HDMI (HDCP 2.2)
HDMI HDCP was first developed as a secure data port for connecting high-definition video transmission devices. And then protocol 2.2 was developed to provide better security. And this protocol version is not supported by earlier HDMI HDCP versions.
Picture showing how HDCP works.

How to Upgrade HDMI 2.0 ports to HDMI 2.1

If you have a Blu-ray player with an HDMI 2.0 port with HDCP 2.2 support , and you want to play a movie on it, in order to watch it, your TV must support HDCP 2.2 encryption

HDCP 2.2   encryption

And if one of the devices does not support HDCP 2.2, the diagram will look like this:

If one of the devices does not support HDCP 2.2, the diagram will look like this:

HDMI (ARC) 4K 60Hz Audio Return Channel

This standard allows you to use only one type of port, so you can connect speakers for audio transmission without using additional ports on your TV. The HDMI (ARC) operation diagram is shown below.

HDMI (ARC) 4K 60Hz Audio Return Channel
The HDMI (ARC) operation diagram

HDMI 10Bit 4K 60Hz

HDMI 10Bit supports 10 or 12-bit image transmission.
As you probably know, TVs only have 3 colors and 1024 shades (in 10-bit color depth panels). However, all other shades and colors are created by combining the original 1,024 shades. There are over 1 billion different colors (just multiply 1024x1024x1024).


HDMI MHL (Mobile High-Definition Link). Thus, the port supports USB Data (USB → HDMI). For example, you can transfer photos, videos, or music from your phone (USB) to your TV (HDMI).
MHL is the only type of HDMI port that supports USB Data.

HDMI MHL (Mobile High-Definition Link).
MHL is only one type of HDMI ports that supports USB Data.

Previous articleHow to uninstall apps on LG Smart TV. Step by step guide
Next articleWhat is a BD Cell Display: An Explanation of BD Cell Displays

What are you Looking for?